After India, four more countries face UAE travel ban

iStock (illustration)

All travellers from Bangladesh, Pakistan, Nepal and Sri Lanka will be barred from entering the UAE.

Making the announcement on Monday, the country’s National Emergency Crisis and Disaster Management Authority said the move will come into effect from 23:59 on Wednesday, May 12.

It will impact national and foreign carriers, as well as those carrying transit passengers who've been in any of the four countries over the last 14 days.

Transit flights coming to the UAE and heading towards these countries will be exempt from the rule, along with cargo flights.

It's part of efforts by the authorities to contain the spread of COVID-19.

UAE citizens, diplomats appointed by the UAE, official delegations, businessmen's chartered flights, and those holding golden residency visa, will be allowed entry provided they meet COVID-19 safety protocols.

They will need to do a 10-day quarantine, and take a PCR test at the airport, as well as on the fourth and eighth day of entry into the UAE. Moreover, the validity of PCR test period has been reduced from 72 hours to 48 hours prior to travel from accredited laboratories that issue test results carrying a QR code.

More from Local News

Recently Played

Latest Blogs